Dragons DSC Awards 2007

By Rhys Roberts - January 6 2008
Dragons DSC Awards 2007 The annual Dragons D.S.C. awards were handed out tonight 21/12/07 with the Most Improved swimmer and Swimmer's swimmer of the Year award going to worthy winners.

Dragons D.S.C. Awards 2007

Tonight (22/12/07) we announced the Dragons Disabled Swimming Club swimming awards for 2007. We have two awards; the Most Improved Swimmer and the Swimmer’s Swimmer of the Year. The trophies have been updated slightly this year with the Most Improved Swimmer Shield having to be retired due to there being no more space to fit the individual’s names on. The Swimmer’s Swimmer Trophy has been modified with new pieces added to cover the wear and tare it has experienced over the years.


The Most Improved Swimmer award goes to the swimmer who has put in the most consistent performances in training and competition throughout the year and has showed the most advancement in their swimming that season. This award is voted for by the coaching staff at the club and has been won in the past by Paralympic Gold Medallists David Roberts MBE and Gareth Duke and was won last year by Sam Bateman.


Ryan receiving the Most Improved Swimmer award from Multi-Paralympic Gold Medalist David Roberts MBE.


This year’s recipient is Ryan Smith who all of the coaching staff thought deserved the award for his improvement in performances this year in galas and the determination he shows to succeed, most notably in Pembroke where his goggles came off in the 50m Freestyle yet he carried on and still won the race.


David Roberts MBE and coach Ian Eke with a thrilled Ryan Smith.


The Swimmer’s Swimmer of the Year award is decided by the swimmers. Every swimmer at the club has the opportunity to put forward their votes for whom they believe deserves the award that year. Previous winners have included David Roberts MBE, Katrina Mitchell and Jonathan Aynge and was last year won by Sophie Hodges who became the youngest ever recipient of the award.


This year’s vote was possibly the closest ever with the votes being spread out throughout the squad. We finally had a winner when the last votes were received and it went to a very worthy winner, Laurence Perks. Laurence is always a popular member in the squad and has made a huge improvement in the water this year.



Laurence receiving the award for the Swimmer's Swimmer of the Year from Ian.


Congratulations to both Ryan and Laurence, this years recipients of our awards.  


Also presented on the evening were the shields that the club won in the Mixed Freestyle and Medley Relays in Pembroke. Megan Jones, who was ill on the morning of the gala and therefore could not compete, was given a small version of one of the shields to keep.


Some of the Pembroke relay members including Megan (Far left on front row)

To view the updated Dragons DSC roll of honour click on the following link

Dragons DSC Roll of Honour