Scotland Player of the Year Awards 2007

By Gavin Wilacy - December 1 2007
Scotland Player of the Year Awards 2007
Duncan MacGillivray Scotland second-rower Duncan MacGillivray has been voted Scotland Player of the Year 2007. The Wakefield Trinity Wildcats forward won the votes by the management team of coach Steve McCormack, assistant Dave Rotheram and manager Richard Thewliss.

MacGillivray wins the Dave Valentine Award, named after Scotland’s greatest ever rugby league player, the Hawick legend who captained Great Britain to World Cup glory in 1954 and led Huddersfield throughout the fifties and sixties.

“Duncan has come back into the Scotland squad and was our Man of the Match in Perpignan, when he led an under-strength side against France, and again a week later in the game against Wales,” explained Thewliss. “He showed what it means to him to play for Scotland, showing a fantastic example in his own quiet way.”

MacGillivray, who has waited three years between his first and second appearance, was delighted: “I’m so proud to win this award. Now I can’t wait to next Autumn and the chance to play for a country as great as Scotland in the World Cup in Australia.”

Liverpool Buccaneers star Scott Porteous was voted Scotland A Team Player of the year and wins the David Rose Award after his displays for his country and his nomination as the Rugby League Conference’s Young Player of the Year Award, the best young amateur player in Britain last summer.

Edinburgh loose forward Barry Earl won the Roy Kinnear Award as top Student player while Kent winger Aiden Oakley picked up the Under-18 award named after former Scotland international Graeme Thompson – named today as England’s manager for the World Cup – and Crawford Mathhews the Nathan Graham Award for best Under-16 player.

The awards will be presented in the New Year.

Scotland Rugby League Player of the Year Awards
Dave Valentine Award – Scotland Senior Team Player of the Year
2007 – Duncan MacGillivray – Wakefield Trinity Wildcats
Previous winners:
2006 – Neil Lowe - Doncaster Lakers
2005 Jon Steel – Hull KR
2004 Chris Birchall – Halifax

David Rose Award – Scotland ‘A’ Team Player of the Year
2007 – Scott Porteous – Liverpool Buccaneers
“Scott shone in his debut season with the A team. His attitude has been excellent and his quick, darting runs at the play of the ball have been a massive factor in the development of a far more dangerous attacking threat posed by the A team this season. He was our Home Nations Man of the Series and followed this with another solid performance against France."
Previous winners:
2006 Andy Todd - Edinburgh Eagles
2005 Barry Edgar – Glasgow Bulls
2004 Andy Brown – Fife Lions

Roy Kinnear Award – Scotland Students Player of the Year
2007 – Barry Earl – Napier University
“Barry has been a consistent performer at all levels and a Scotland RL stalwart for many years. He played for Great Britain Students in the Carnegie Student Ashes and was a key figure in the 2nd and 3rd Tests. He captained Scotland Students this year and led from the front, setting a high standard for the rest of the team to aspire to.”
Previous winners:
2006 James Morrow - Leeds Met University
2005 David Simm – Napier University
2004 Andy McPhail – Napier University

Graeme Thompson Award – Scotland Under-18s Player of the Year
2007 - Aiden Oakley – Kent Ravens
Previous winners:
2006 Davie Crangle - Easterhouse Panthers

Nathan Graham Award – Scotland Under-16s Player of the Year
2007 - Crawford Matthews
Previous winners:
2005 Craig Owenson - Edinburgh
2004 Davie Crangle – St Ninian’s High School