'A' Squad Named For England Clash

By GW - August 2 2006
'A' Squad Named For England Clash
Dougie Thomson Dougie Thomson, Dene Miller and Mark Webster return to the Scotland squad to face England Lionhearts on 13 August. The trio will give Scotland firepower out wide and, with Happy Gilmour replacing Jame Benn at stand-off, Scotland are confident of making it two straight wins against the Auld Enemy.
The England lionhearts clash will be at GHA RFC's Braidholm Road ground in Muirend, Glasgow (just off Fenwick Rd A77), kick off 2pm.

The squad of 22 will be reduced to 18 next week;

1 Andy Brown (Fife Lions) – sponsored by Jacko’s Ices & Sure Vend Ltd
2 Dougie Thomson (Edinburgh Eagles)
3 Dene Miller (St Albans Centurions) – sponsored by St Albans Centurions
4 Andy Todd (Edinburgh Eagles) – sponsored by 3D Architects
5 Mark Webster (Liverpool Buccaneers)
6 Ian Gilmour (Leicester Phoenix) – sponsored by Firestopit Limited
7 Ritchy Hawkyard (Scotland Students)
8 Ash Carroll (Edinburgh Eagles)
9 Niall MacDonald (Edinburgh Eagles) – sponsored by Wild Diamond Surfing, Tiree
10 James Mackay (Carlisle Centurions)
11 Scott MacGillivray (Fife Lions)
13 John Macdonald (Edinburgh Eagles)
14 Dave Birchall (Huddersfield Underbank)
16 Nick Surtees (St Albans Centurions) – sponsored by St Albans Centurions
18 Kevin Lang (Glasgow Bulls) - sponsored by Dustacco Engineering Ltd
20 Rob Smart (Army) – sponsored by Heartlands Joint Managed Projects Ltd
21 Al Stewart (Liverpool Bucaneers)
22 Fraser Stirling (Kingston Warriors) – sponsored by British Sky Broadcasting Ltd
23 Bryan Aspinall (Fife Lions)
24 Gavin Mahindru (Glasgow Bulls)
25 Barry Earl (Edinburgh Eagles)
30 Tom Wild (Edinburgh Eagles)

Coach: Nathan Graham – sponsored by Keystone Healthcare Ltd
Manager: Gavin Willacy
Physios: Emma Head & Lisa Reid