By Web - December 3 2010
WOODHOUSE TROPHY  2013 The 2013 Woodhouse Trophy kicks off on the 19th May when Sway entertain Fawley. Hythe's first game will be on the 9th June @ Sway whilst the return fixture will be the final match in the series on the 21st July. 




new club logo


 Josh Mead small


Josh Mead will captain Hythe Sunday 2nd XI in this seasons Woodhouse Trophy games.

Josh will be trying to emulate brother Sam's feat of 2011 when he captained the side to victory.

With Fawley running just one Sunday side this year The Oilers could be stronger than they have been for several seasons. Sway as usual will be as competitive as ever.




19th MaySwayvsFawley
9th JuneSwayvsHythe & Dibden
16th JuneHythe & Dibden vsFawley
23rd JuneFawleyvsSway
7th JulyFawleyvsHythe & Dibden
21st JulyHythe & DibdenvsSway


2012, 11,10- Hythe & Dibden
2009- Sway
2008- Fawley
2007- Sway
2006 - Fawley
2005, 04 - Hythe & Dibden
2003- Beaulieu


  • Rules will be the same as normal Sunday Friendly Games with a 2.30 start, 5pm tea and 20 overs in the last hour of play.
  • No player who plays in the County Divisions 1-4 will be allowed to play in the competition excluding colts (U17's & below).
  • Teams must consist of at least 6 colts (Under 17 as per New Forest Colts League)
  • No bowler to bowl more than 8 overs in the game to enable more people to participate.
  • A Winning Side will pick up 12 points
  • Bonus points for Batting will be achieved at 100-125-150-175-200.
  • For sides batting second winning with wickets in hand. A point will be added (max 5 batting in total) for every 2 wickets in hand
  • Bonus Points for Bowling will be achieved at 2-4-6-8 and 10 wickets.
  • If a game is postponed because of the weather both sides will collect 6 points.
  • If a game is stopped and cannot be finished then bonus points will count.




Sway 176-9 (8 Pts) D.Marshall 66, A.Straw 33 Drew Fawley 133-9 (6 Pts) N.Shrive 60

Fawley 66-9 (5 Pts) Drew Sway 138 a/o (6 Pts)

Fawley 134-6 (3 Pts) Drew Hythe & Dibden 206-2 dec (8 Pts) J.Stovell 100*

Hythe & Dibden 177 a/o Z.Millar 64 (8 Pts) Drew Sway 102-9 S.Nailor 32, S.Long 3-16 (6 Pts)

Hythe & Dibden (6pts) vs Fawley (6pts) - Match Rained Off

Sway 156 a/o (6pts) A.Woods 5-27, J.Mead 3-18 Drew Hythe & Dibden 130-7 (7pts)


Hythe & Dibden40031111229




Hythe's Winning 2012 Side





The Tony Woodhouse Trophy was set up in 2003 with the idea of Hythe using it to bring youngsters into adult cricket. Lawrence Read at Fawley had been doing it for years and together the two clubs invited Beaulieu to form a Triangular Tournament with the sides playing each other once.

After a few teething seasons - In 2007 Sway were asked to join and the three sides - and thanks to Lawrence & Dave at Sway - Hythe & Dibden, Fawley & Sway have been competing for the trophy ever since, playing the game in the spirit Tony use to enjoy for over fifty years.

Through the 80’s the team consisted of Tony, Alan Wiltshire and 9 colts representing Hythe 2nd XI which resulted in heavy defeats and some objections from the opponents. Yet Hythe ignored the complaints and many of the Senior players today benefited from those years of cricket. Tony never complained though – he was happy in the slips with the young lads running around the field and if they dropped a catch off his bowling, he use to shout ‘ never mind you’ll catch the next one’.